Board Members

Back: Brian Broadbent, Timothy Barney, Derek Johnson. Front: Vernon L. Smith, Kimberly O. Dennis.

About the Board Members

Timothy Barney

Tim Barney is a Managing Director and Investment Board member of Banyan Ventures. He currently oversees the Banyan Opportunity Fund and is involved in the management of Intermountain Nutrition and RCA Holdings, the first two investments of the Fund.

Tim is well-known in Salt Lake City’s private equity industry, having served as President of NJMC Investments and as a Founder and Principal of Longview Partners for the past eight years. Prior to moving to venture capital, Tim was an Executive Vice President at EnergySolutions, where he retired in 2008 after nearly 12 years with the company. He held many positions at EnergySolutions, including Chief Operating Officer, Vice President of Investor Relations, Vice President of Government Relations, and Vice President of Corporate Development.

Tim began his career with Envirocare in 1996 as a Regulatory Affairs Specialist and was later promoted to Chief Operating Officer. Before his years at Envirocare, he was employed by the Utah Legislative Auditor General’s Office as a Performance Auditor.

Tim sits on the National Advisory Board for the Huntsman School of Business at Utah State University and has served on the Board of Trustees of Snow College. Tim is active in civic and community affairs. He holds a bachelor’s degree in International Relations from Brigham Young University and graduated from Utah State University with a master’s degree in Political Economy.

Brian Broadbent

Brian is a senior Private Wealth Advisor at Goldman, Sachs & Co. in the New York Office where he manages and oversees a team responsible for approximately $12 billion in client assets. He joined Goldman Sachs in 1993 and currently is a Managing Director. He works closely with high net worth individuals and private/public foundations structuring and implementing investment portfolios. Brian is a member of the Firms’ Leadership Council and is actively involved with training and recruiting new associates.

Brian received his BS Cum Laude from Utah State with degrees in Finance and Marketing and minors in Economics and Public Relations. He serves on the Investment Committee for the USU Foundation and Endowments. He has supported various USU programs including speaking with and mentoring business students. He has worked closely with the career development office at USU and Goldman Sachs in their recruiting efforts of USU Students. He has given endowed Scholarships to the College of Business and College of Education. Brian is a member of the Huntsman School of Business National Advisory Board and the Old Main Society. He received the USU Spirit of Old Main New Generation Award.

Kimberly O. Dennis

Kim Dennis is president of the Searle Freedom Trust, a grantmaking foundation established by the late Daniel C. Searle to support public policy research. She first began working in the grantmaking arena in 1980 as a staffer for the John M. Olin Foundation, and later became the first executive director of The Philanthropy Roundtable. She co-founded and serves as chairman of the board of Donors Trust, a donor-advised fund dedicated to advancing liberty. She has also worked with nonprofit policy organizations, including the Pacific Research Institute and the American Enterprise Institute, and has served on the boards of the Arthur N. Rupe Foundation, the Earhart Foundation, the Property and Environment Research Center, and George Mason University.

Derek Johnson

Derek Johnson is the executive director at the Charles Koch Institute where he works to empower social entrepreneurs—working in education, communities, business and government—on their path to breaking barriers holding people back from realizing their potential. He has been with the Charles Koch Institute or Charles Koch Foundation for ten years.

His previous work at the Charles Koch Foundation focused on developing research and educational programs that advance an understanding and realization of the factors that lead to societal transformation through enabling individual to improve their lives and the lives of those around them.

Derek holds a BA and MA in political science from Utah State University.

Vernon L. Smith

Vernon L. Smith, Nobel Prize winner in economics, 2002, is a Professor of Economics and Law at Chapman University, a Research Scholar at the Interdisciplinary Center for Economic Science, and a Fellow of the Mercatus Center at George Mason University.

Dr. Smith serves or has served on the board of editors of the American Economic Review, the Cato Journal, Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization, the Journal of Risk and Uncertainty, Science, Economic Theory, Economic Design, Games and Economic Behavior, and the Journal of Economic Methodology.

Dr. Smith is past president of the Public Choice Society, the Economic Science Association, the Western Economic Association and the Association for Private Enterprise Education. Previous faculty appointments include the University of Arizona, Purdue, Brown University and the University of Massachusetts. He has been a Ford Foundation Fellow, Fellow of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences and a Sherman Fairchild Distinguished Scholar at the California Institute of Technology.

Dr. Smith is a distinguished fellow of the American Economic Association, an Andersen Consulting Professor of the Year, the 1995 Adam Smith award recipient conferred by the Association for Private Enterprise Education. He was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences in 1995, and received California Institute of Technology’s distinguished alumni award in 1996. He has served as a consultant on the privatization of electric power in Australia and New Zealand and participated in numerous private and public discussions of energy deregulation in the United States. In 1997 he served as a Blue Ribbon Panel Member, National Electric Reliability Council.

Dr. Smith received his B.S. degree in electrical engineering from California Institute of Technology, and his Ph.D in economics from Harvard. He has authored or co-authored over 300 articles and books on capital theory, finance, natural resource economics, and experimental economics.